QA level 3 Award in Paediatric First Aid (RQF)

This accredited 12 hour Paediatric First Aid course will provide the knowledge and practical competencies needed to deal with a range of emergency first aid situations involving children or infants. The course is delivered in line with the Early Years Foundation stage statutory framework and accredited by Qualsafe Awards.

Suitable for: Teachers, child-minders, parents and nursery school assistants .

View Dates

Aim

To provide the knowledge and practical competencies needed to deal with a range of emergency first aid situations involving children or infants.

Objectives

  • Outline the role and responsibilities of a paediatric first aider, including contents of a first aid kit
  • Identify how to assess an incident, and how to record and report accidents or incidents
  • Demonstrate how to treat an infant or child who is suffering from breathing problems, head injuries, anaphylaxis, shock, insect stings, spinal injuries and chronic medical conditions.
  • Demonstrate how to deliver first aid to a child that is too hot or cold, unresponsive, choking or bleeding

 

You may like:

Designated Child Protection Officer Training

Safeguarding Children for Early Years Staff

 

At the end of the course delegates should be able to:

  • Understand the role and responsibility of the paediatric first aider
  • Assess an emergency situation safely
  • Demonstrate how to correctly manage and record any incidents/accidents, in accordance with the workplace policy
  • Provide first aid for an infant and a child who is unresponsive, choking or suffering from shock.
  • Provide first aid to an infant and a child with external bleeding, bites, stings or other minor injuries.
  • Provide first aid to an infant and a child with a suspected fracture or head, neck or back injury.
  • Understand how to administer first aid to an infant and a child who is experiencing the effects of extreme heat and cold, or various burns/scalds.
  • Understand how to provide first aid to an infant or child with anaphylaxis, including the use of auto-injectible devices.

Course dates:

Wednesday 12th- Thursday 20th May 2021

  • Evening 1: Wednesday 12th May 2021
  • Evening 2: Thursday 13th May 2021
  • Evening 3: Wednesday 19th May 2021
  • Evening 4: Thursday 20th May 2021

Tuesday 3rd- Wednesday 11th August 2021

  • Evening 1: Tuesday 3rd August 2021
  • Evening 2: Wednesday 4th August 2021
  • Evening 3: Tuesday 10th August 2021
  • Evening 4: Wednesday 11th August 2021

Tuesday 14th- Wednesday 22nd September 2021

  • Evening 1: Tuesday 5th October 2021
  • Evening 2: Wednesday 6th October 2021
  • Evening 3: Monday 11th October 2021
  • Evening 4: Tuesday 12th October 2021
Limited places
QA%20Paed%20First%20Aid%20Small.jpeg

12

May

Paediatric First Aid

Belfast

£84.00

Wednesday, 12 May 2021 - Thursday, 20 May 2021

06:30 PM - 09:30 PM (2 weeks)

  • Belfast
  • £84.00 incl. VAT
Register3 places remaining

Wed 12 May 2021 - Thu 20 May 2021

06:30 PM - 09:30 PM (2 weeks)

The 12 hour Paediatric First Aid course is suitable for teachers, child-minders, parents and nursery school assistants and is delivered in line with the Early Years Foundation stage statutory framework.

Register3 places remaining
QA%20Paed%20First%20Aid%20Small.jpeg

3

Aug

Paediatric First Aid

Belfast

£84.00

Tuesday, 3 August 2021 - Wednesday, 11 August 2021

06:30 PM - 09:30 PM (2 weeks)

  • Belfast
  • £84.00 incl. VAT

Tue 3 Aug 2021 - Wed 11 Aug 2021

06:30 PM - 09:30 PM (2 weeks)

The 12 hour Paediatric First Aid course is suitable for teachers, child-minders, parents and nursery school assistants and is delivered in line with the Early Years Foundation stage statutory framework.

QA%20Paed%20First%20Aid%20Small.jpeg

5

Oct

Paediatric First Aid

Belfast

£84.00

Tuesday, 5 October 2021 - Tuesday, 12 October 2021

06:30 PM - 09:30 PM (2 weeks)

  • Belfast
  • £84.00 incl. VAT

Tue 5 Oct 2021 - Tue 12 Oct 2021

06:30 PM - 09:30 PM (2 weeks)

The 12 hour Paediatric First Aid course is suitable for teachers, child-minders, parents and nursery school assistants and is delivered in line with the Early Years Foundation stage statutory framework.

Cost

£84.00

Time

6.30pm-9.30pm (delivered over 4 evenings)

Accredited by

sidebar_icon_related_text

Course available in-house